top of page

SWIB Honored With Board of the Year Allocators' Choice Award

The State of Wisconsin Investment Board (SWIB) Board of Trustees was honored September 12 in New York City, winning Institutional Investor’s Allocators’ Choice Award for Investment Committee/Board of the Year. Board Chair Barb Nick, retired president and chief executive officer of Dairyland Cooperative, accepted the award on behalf of the SWIB Trustees.

The Board was nominated for its role in facilitating SWIB’s ability to implement a flexible investment strategy to stay positioned for long-term success amidst challenging markets in 2022. The Board also adopted a new long-term incentive plan as part of its competitive pay-for-performance compensation program that will assist in attracting and retaining talented professionals while also aligning them with the interests of Wisconsin Retirement System (WRS) participants.

“This award is well-deserved,” said SWIB’s Executive Director/Chief Investment Officer Edwin Denson. “As capital markets become increasingly complex and the hiring landscape more competitive, Trustees have supported our need to flexibly adapt to market conditions and to attract the experienced staff necessary to ensure SWIB can continue to deliver on the promise to WRS participants.”

“As Trustees, we focus on the prudent oversight and strategic decisions necessary to stay true to SWIB’s mission,” said Trustee Nick. “We never lose sight of the more than 660,000 WRS participants who have devoted their careers to public service and rely on SWIB for their retirement security.”

The Allocators' Choice Awards are financial awards given by Institutional Investor -- a leading international financial publication -- to recognize industry leaders. The awards were created as a way for asset allocators to recognize deserving peers for their work in different categories.

Finalists were selected based on nominations submitted over the summer and were vetted by Institutional Investor's editorial team. Only institutional asset owners were eligible to vote in the Allocators' Choice Awards. This included staff members of retirement systems, endowments, foundations, sovereign funds, central banks, family offices, but not consultants, asset managers, or other service providers.


bottom of page