top of page

SWIB Trustees Win Allocators' Choice Award

The State of Wisconsin Investment Board (SWIB) Board of Trustees was honored Dec. 3 in New York City, winning Institutional Investor’s Allocators’ Choice Award for Investment Committee/Board of the Year. Board Chair David Stein, executive vice president of Associated Banc-Corp., accepted the award on behalf of the SWIB Trustees.

The Board was nominated for its role in SWIB’s ability to successfully manage the investments of the Wisconsin Retirement System (WRS) and other trust funds. In support of SWIB’s work, the nine-member, independent Board has demonstrated a continued commitment to a strong governance structure, active internal management and a sophisticated investment strategy, building out technology, and hiring the best talent to manage the trust funds.

“This award is well-deserved,” said SWIB’s Executive Director/Chief Investment Officer David Villa. “As investments become more complex, Trustees have supported our need to enhance our technology and to hire people with the expertise to ensure SWIB can continue to deliver on the promise to the trust fund participants.”

“As Trustees, we are continuously looking for ways to build on an already strong foundation that has led to the WRS being one of the only fully funded public pensions in the country,” said Trustee Stein.

The Allocators’ Choice Awards are investment industry awards given by Institutional Investor -- a leading international financial publication -- to recognize industry leaders. The awards were created as a way for asset allocators to choose peers deserving recognition for their work.

Finalists were selected based on nominations submitted over the summer and were vetted by Institutional Investor's editorial team. Only institutional asset owners were eligible to vote in the Allocators' Choice Awards. This included staff members of retirement systems, endowments, foundations, sovereign funds, central banks, and family offices.

bottom of page