top of page

Edwin Denson Wins CIO Industry Innovation Award

State of Wisconsin Investment Board (SWIB) Executive Director/Chief Investment Officer Edwin Denson has been named the winner of the Chief Investment Officer (CIO) 2022 Industry Innovation Award in the category for public defined benefit pension funds with assets greater than $100 billion.

CIO magazine uses these awards to highlight truly innovative approaches to the challenges of institutional asset ownership and asset management. A panel of industry judges help select the winners from the list of finalists. This year, CIO is celebrating those who have thrived and been incredible leaders as markets have turned rough and inflation and rates have risen.

CIO magazine is published to inform and network the world's largest asset owners and the people who advise them. The magazine, along with CIO's website, provides the latest news, opinion, and research focusing on the overarching investment issues affecting public and corporate pension plans, endowments, foundations, healthcare capital pools, and sovereign wealth funds.

Click here to read more about the awards.

About SWIB

SWIB’s strong management of the WRS trust funds has helped fuel one of the only fully funded public pensions in the country for about 663,000 current and former employees of state agencies, the university system, school districts, and most local governments. The WRS consistently ranks among the 10 largest public pension funds in the U.S. SWIB provides a strong, steady economic pillar for the state of Wisconsin by growing the trust funds under its management, managing risk, and optimizing costs over the long term. As of Dec. 31, 2021, the WRS accounts for approximately 89% of the more than $165.6 billion of total assets under management at SWIB. In addition to the more than $147 billion in WRS trust funds, SWIB also serves the state by investing the State Investment Fund, University of Wisconsin System Trust Funds, Injured Patients and Families Compensation Fund, State Life Insurance Fund, and Historical Society Trust Fund.


bottom of page